Andy Murray caught in umpire quarrel after receiving time violation in Indian Wells clash

Andy Murray got caught up in an exchange with chair umpire Mohamed Lahyani when he received a time violation while returning Radu Albot’s serve. The Brit claimed he quickly went to his towel after the lucky loser hit an ace and continued the quarrel at the changeover, where the official said he “had no choice” as it was the second time Murray took too long.

Murray is facing Albot in his second round match in Indian Wells after the Moldovan got into the draw as a lucky loser when 15th seed Pablo Carreno Busta withdrew. Albot was serving at 2-3 in the second set when he fired an ace, after which Murray went to wipe his face with his towel and returned to the baseline.

But he ran out of time after such a quick point from the lucky loser and received a time violation, approaching the umpire’s chair to question the call. The former world No 1 shrugged at the decision and explained: “I walked over there, I wiped my face and then I walked back.”

Addressing the official, Murray added: “Mohamed, come on.” But when Lahyani explained that he had taken five seconds too long while Albot was already ready to serve, the world No 55 said the umpire started the clock too fast after such a quick point on the ace.

Commentator Robbie Koenig then said: “Yeah, the previous point was an ace so it was quick, right? And Albot went across, was ready to serve. Andy has probably got about 15 seconds. Those 15 seconds do belong to the returner and if the server is beginning to serve, then the returner gets the time violation.


Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button